The Institute of Historical Research of the National Hellenic Research Foundation is pleased to announce the organization of its first Summer School on Greek Palaeography and Byzantine Epigraphy from July 4 to July 9, 2016 with the kind collaboration of the Monastery of Saint John the Theologian in Patmos.
The one-week intensive Summer School is an introductory course to Greek Palaeography and Byzantine Epigraphy aiming to provide students with basic skills that will enable them to approach manuscripts and written inscriptions. A unique feature of this Summer School is that students will be given the opportunity to learn and practice in the Monastery of Saint John, which is now home to more than 1200 manuscripts and a large number of icons and monumental paintings with inscriptions dating from the 12th to the 16th century.
The school is open to PhD candidates, postgraduate students and students in their final year of Classics, Philology, History, Theology and Byzantine & Medieval Studies.
Further information on the Summer School can be found on its website http://www.eie.gr/NHRF_SummerSchools2016_Palaeography-en.html