2023 Medieval Academy of America Publication Prizes

We are very pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Publication Prizes:

The Haskins Medal
Dyan Elliott, The Corrupter of Boys: Sodomy, Scandal, and the Medieval Clergy  (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2020)

The John Nicholas Brown Prize
Cord Whitaker, Black Metaphors: How Modern Racism Emerged from Medieval Race-Thinking  (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2019)

The Article Prize in Critical Race Studies
Dorothy Kim, “The Politics of the Medieval Preracial,” Literature Compass, 18:10 (2021)
Nicole Lopez-Jantzen, “Historiography, Periodization, and Race: Italy between Antiquity and the Middle Ages, Europe and Africa,” New Literary History 52 (2021)

The Digital Humanities and Multimedia Studies Prize
Alice Isabella Sullivan and Julia Gearhart, The Sinai Digital Archive

The Van Courtlandt Elliott Prize
John Lansdowne, “Compounding Greekness: St. Katherine ‘Egyptian’ and the Sta. Croce Micromosaic,” Gesta 60 (2021)

The Karen Gould Prize in Art History
Jacqueline E. Jung, Eloquent Bodies: Movement, Expression, and the Human Figure in Gothic Sculpture (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2020)

Nina Rowe, The Illuminated World Chronicle: Tales from the Late Medieval City (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2020)

The Monica H. Green Prize
Kristina Richardson, Roma in the Medieval Islamic World: Literacy, Culture, and Migration (New York: Bloomsbury, 2021)

The Jerome E. Singerman Prize
Holly A. Crocker, The Matter of Virtue: Women’s Ethical Action from Chaucer to Shakespeare (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2019)

Thomas W. Barton, Victory’s Shadow: Conquest and Governance in Medieval Catalonia (Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2019)

These prizes will be awarded at the upcoming Annual Meeting during the Presidential Plenary session on Saturday, 25 February, at 10:45 AM. Please join us as we honor these scholars and their important work.

This entry was posted in Grants & Prizes. Bookmark the permalink.