A Message from the Medieval Academy of America

The Medieval Academy of America has long provided a variety of benefits of membership, including numerous fellowships, prizes and grants for travel, research and publications. Please see the list below with their deadlines, then follow the links for complete descriptions and application information.

Graduate Student Fellowships and Awards
Birgit Baldwin Fellowship
(Deadline Nov. 15)
Schallek Fellowship and Awards
(Deadline Oct. 15/Feb. 15)
Medieval Academy Dissertation Grants
(Deadline Feb. 15)

  • Hope Emily Allen Dissertation Grant
  • Helen Maud Cam Dissertation Grant
  • Grace Frank Dissertation Grant
  • Etienne Gilson Dissertation Grant
  • Frederic C. Lane Dissertation Grant
  • E. K. Rand Dissertation Grant
  • Charles T. Wood Dissertation Grant

Leyerle-CARA Prize (Deadline Jan. 31)
CARA Tuition Scholarships

  • Medieval Institute, University of Notre Dame (Deadline May 1)
  • Centre for Medieval Studies, University of Toronto (Deadline Mar. 1)
  • Institute for Medieval Studies, University of New Mexico (Deadline Apr. 5)

Service Awards
Kindrick-CARA Award for Outstanding Service
(Deadline Nov. 15)

Teaching Awards
CARA Award for Excellence in Teaching
(Deadline Nov. 15)

Independent Scholars/Unaffiliated Faculty
Travel Grants
(Deadlines Nov. 1 and May 1)

Book and Article Awards
Haskins Medal
(Deadline Oct. 15)
John Nicholas Brown Prize
(Deadline Oct. 15)
Van Courtlandt Elliott Prize
(Deadline Oct. 15)
MAA Book Subventions
(Deadline May 1)

Nomination of Fellows
Nomination of Fellows and Corresponding Fellows
 (Deadline Nov. 8 )

This entry was posted in Grants & Prizes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.