MAA News – 2016 Candidates for Council and the Nominating Committee

"Dante and Virgil in Conversation," from Oxford: Bodleian Library, MS. Holkham Misc. 48, p. 67. © Bodleian Library, University of Oxford.

“Dante and Virgil in Conversation,” from Oxford: Bodleian Library, MS. Holkham Misc. 48, p. 67. © Bodleian Library, University of Oxford.

We are pleased to announce the slate of candidates for the 2016 Medieval Academy election:

Carmela Vircillo Franklin (Classics, Columbia Univ.)

1st Vice-President:
Margot E. Fassler (Music History and Liturgy, Univ. of Notre Dame)

2nd Vice-President:
David Wallace (English and Comparative Literature, Univ. of Pennsylvania)

Council (four seats available):

Rick Barton (History, Univ. of North Carolina at Greensboro)
María Bullón-Fernández (English, Seattle Univ.)
Emily C. Francomano (Spanish, Georgetown Univ.)
Matthew Gabriele (History, Virginia Tech.)
Matthew Giancarlo (English, Univ. of Kentucky)
Sharon Kinoshita (French, Univ. of California, Santa Cruz)
Amy Livingstone (History, Wittenberg Univ.)
Jerry Singerman (Comparative Literature, Univ. of Pennsylvania Press)

Nominating Committee (two seats available):

Roland Betancourt (Art History, Univ. of California, Irvine) Joyce Coleman (English, Univ. of Oklahoma)
Sean L. Field (History, Univ. of Vermont)
Fiona Griffiths (History, Stanford Univ.)

The list of candidates with their photos and brief biographies appears online here:

There are eight candidates for four openings on the Council, the governing body of the Academy. There are four candidates for two openings on the Nominating Committee, tasked with proposing candidates for the annual election. As is our practice, the slate of presidential officers is presented unopposed, although nominations by petition may be made as follows, in accordance with article 26 of the By-Laws:

Nominations of other members of the Academy for elected officers, Councillors, or members of the Nominating Committee may be made by written petition signed by at least seven members of the Academy. A nomination by petition may be for a single office, several offices, or an entire slate. Such petitions must be received by the Executive Director within twenty days of the circulation of the report of the Nominating Committee (article 25), unless the Council extends the period for making nominations by petition.

As the slate of candidates was announced by email on 15 September, the closing date for nomination by petition has been set at 11:59 PM, 5 October 2015. Additional information about the governance of the Academy can be found here.

Electronic balloting will open on November 1. If you would like to receive a paper ballot, please contact Executive Director Lisa Fagin Davis at

Voting in the Medieval Academy election is one of the most important means that members have to impact both the Academy and the future of medieval studies in North America. Please vote and let your voice be heard. We look forward to your participation in the election of the leadership of the Medieval Academy.

This entry was posted in MAA Newsletter. Bookmark the permalink.