MAA News – 97th Annual Meeting

2022 Fellows Inductees: Front row: Elina Gertsman and M. Cecilia Gaposchkin; Back row: Suzanne Conklin Akbari, Jerome Singerman, Fiona Griffiths, Adam Kosto, Marcia Kupfer, Deborah Deliyannis, Daniel Lord Smail, Laura Smoller.

We are all so grateful to the organizers and implementers of this year’s MAA Annual Meeting at the University of Virginia. There is much to celebrate! Although COVID social-distancing restrictions compelled us to limit in-person attendance to 175, because of the hybrid format we welcomed more than 400 online attendees from all over the world. With multiple sessions running concurrently at any given time, technical difficulties were inevitable but were generally resolved relatively quickly by an amazing team of UVA students, to whom we are exceedingly grateful.

This Annual Meeting was without doubt the most intellectually and demographically diverse in our history, and we invite you to peruse the online program to investigate the extraordinary variety of topics and sessions. Plenaries were delivered by Roland Betancourt, Seeta Chaganti, and outgoing MAA President Thomas E. Dale. Before the closing plenary, ten scholars were inducted into the Society of Fellows. We also awarded our annual Publication, Teaching, and Student Prizes. Graduate Student Prizes were awarded to Giulia Accornero, Mariechristine Garcia, Jared Scott Miller, and Shannah Rose. Congratulations to all!

Given the variety of technical arrangements available at different Annual Meeting venues going forward, we cannot guarantee that every conference will be held in a hybrid format. Even so, as we consider various possible formats for future meetings, we invite you to provide feedback on this meeting here.

We hope to see you in Washington, DC for the 98th Annual Meeting next February!

This entry was posted in MAA Newsletter. Bookmark the permalink.