MAA News – Academy Governance Election: Don’t Forget to Vote

Voting in the annual MAA governance election is now open. A link to the electronic ballot was sent to all members by email on 15 October.

This one of the most important means that members have to impact both the MAA and the future of medieval studies in North America. I am very pleased to announce the names of the Medieval Academy members who have generously agreed to stand for election to office in 2019:

President: Ruth Mazo Karras (History, Trinity College Dublin)

1st-VP: Renate Blumenfeld-Kosinski (French, Univ. of Pittsburgh)

2nd-VP: Thomas E. A. Dale (Art History, Univ. of Wisconsin)

Councillors (four seats available):
Lynda Coon (History, Univ. of Arkansas)
Hussein Fancy (History, Univ. of Michigan)
Fiona Griffiths (History, Stanford Univ.)
Elizabeth Papp Kamali (Law, Harvard Law School)
Adam J. Kosto (History, Columbia Univ.)
Karl Kügle (Musicology, Univ. of Oxford/Utrecht Univ.)
Anne Latowsky (French/Latin, Univ. of South Florida)
Catherine M. Mooney (History, Boston College)

Nominating Committee (two seats available):
Jessica L. Goldberg (History, Univ. of California, Los Angeles)
Kathy Lavezzo (English Literature, Univ. of Iowa)
Ann Marie Rasmussen (German and Slavic Studies, Univ. of Waterloo)
Sif Rikhardsdottir (Comparative Literature, Univ. of Iceland)

Please note that C. Stephen Jaeger has removed his name from contention and has been replaced on the slate of Nominating Committee candidates by Jessica L. Goldberg. We are grateful to Prof. Goldberg for accepting the candidacy at such a late date.

The list of candidates with photos, vision statements, and brief biographies appears online here:

There are eight candidates for four openings on the Council, the governing body of the Academy. There are four candidates for two openings on the Nominating Committee, tasked with proposing candidates for the annual Council and Officers’ election. No additional candidates were submitted during the open nomination period. As a result, the slate of three Presidential Officers is presented unopposed. Additional information about MAA governance and elections can be found on our FAQ page.

Please note that voting is restricted to members of the Medieval Academy of America. You may only cast one ballot. Your ballot will be invalid if you vote for more than the allowable number of candidates indicated. The deadline for receipt of your vote is 2 January 2019.

If you would prefer a paper ballot and have not requested one in the past, please let me know.

Thank you for participating in the election.
– Lisa Fagin Davis, Executive Director

This entry was posted in MAA Newsletter. Bookmark the permalink.