MAA News – Voting is Open!

To the Members of the Medieval Academy:

Voting in the annual MAA governance election is now open!

Please check your emails for your ballots.

This is one of the most important means that members have to impact both the MAA and the future of medieval studies in North America. We have a very strong roster of candidates this year, including:


President: David J. Wallace (English and Comparative Literature, Univ. of Pennsylvania)

1st-VP: Ruth Mazo Karras (History, Univ. of Minnesota)

2nd-VP: Renate Blumenfeld-Kosinski (French, Univ. of Pittsburgh)

Council (eight candidates for four seats):

Kathryne Beebe (History, Univ. of Texas-Arlington)
Jochen Burgtorf (History, California State Univ., Fullerton)
Raymond Clemens (Manuscript Studies, Beinecke Library, Yale Univ.)
Valerie L. Garver (History, Northern Illinois Univ.)
Stephen Jaeger (German Lit., Emeritus, Univ. of Illinois, Urbana/Champaign)
Cynthia J. Neville (History, Dalhousie Univ.)
Lucy K. Pick (Religion, Univ. of Chicago)
Kathryn A. Smith (Art History, New York Univ.)

Nominating Committee (four candidates for two seats):

Katie Ann-Marie Bugyis (Religious Studies, Saint Martin’s Univ.)
Robin Fleming (History, Boston College)
Gabriel Radle (Liturgical Studies, Univ. of Notre Dame)
Catherine Saucier (Musicology, Arizona State Univ.)

The list of candidates with photos, vision statements, and brief biographies appears online here.

Additional information about MAA governance and elections can be found on our FAQ page.

Please note that voting is restricted to members of the Medieval Academy of America. You may only cast one ballot. Your ballot will be invalid if you vote for more than the allowable number of candidates indicated. The deadline for receipt of your vote is 2 January 2018.

If you would prefer a paper ballot and have not requested one in the past, please let me know.

Thank you for participating in the election.

– Lisa Fagin Davis, Executive Director

This entry was posted in MAA Newsletter. Bookmark the permalink.