MAA Award Winners

Deirdre Carter

Deirdre Carter

Schallek Fellowship
Deirdre Carter of the Florida State University will receive the 2013 Schallek Fellowship. She is working under Richard K. Emmerson and Paula Gerson on “Art, History and the Creation of Monastic Identity in Late Medieval St. Albans Abbey.” This fellowship, which is supported by the Richard III Society, American Branch, provides a one-year grant of $30,000 to support Ph.D. dissertation research in any relevant discipline dealing with late-medieval Britain (c.1350-1500).

The members of the Schallek Committee in 2012-13 are Leigh Ann Craig, Chair (Virginia Commonwealth University), Joel Rosenthal (SUNY Stony Brook), Nancy Warren (Texas A&M University), and Joyce Coleman (University of Oklahoma).

MAA Travel Grants
The MAA Committee for Professional Development is pleased to announce the Winter 2012-2013 Travel Grant winners: Susan Dudash and Mary Stroll won international awards, and Jennifer Feltman and Sarah Zeiser won domestic awards. In March, Susan Dudash will travel to the Journée d’études on the Livre des fais d’armes in Paris to present a paper; and in April, Mary Stroll will present a paper at Framing Anacletus II (Anti)pope 1130-1138, in Rome. Both Jennifer Feltman and Sarah Zeiser will present papers at the International Congress of Medieval Studies at Kalamazoo, May 9-13.

The 2012-13 members of the Committee for Professional Development include Bruce O’Brien, Chair (University of Mary Washington), Karen Mathews (University of Miami), and Georgiana Donavin (Westminster College, Salt Lake City).

This entry was posted in MAA Newsletter. Bookmark the permalink.