MAA News – 2024 MAA Publication Prizes

2024 Medieval Academy of America Publication Prizes

We are very pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 Medieval Academy of America Publication Prizes:

The Haskins Medal

Leah DeVun, The Shape of Sex: Nonbinary Gender from Genesis to the Renaissance (Columbia University Press, 2021)

The John Nicholas Brown Prize

Andrew Kraebel, Biblical Commentary and Translation in Later Medieval England: Experiments in Interpretation (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2020)

The Article Prize in Critical Race Studies

Mariah Junglan Min, “Preaching to the Choir Fantastic: Conversion and Racial Liminality in Elene,” Exemplaria 34 (2022), 274-295

The Digital Humanities and Multimedia Studies Prize

Andrea Nanetti, Fra Mauro’s Map

The Van Courtlandt Elliott Prize

Jake A. Stattel, “Legal Culture in the Danelaw: A Study of III Aethelred,” Anglo-Saxon England 48 (2019 (appeared in 2022)), 163-203

The Karen Gould Prize in Art History

Alison Perchuk, The Medieval Monastery of Saint Elijah: A History in Paint and Stone (Brepols, 2021)

The Monica H. Green Prize

Amanda Luyster, Bringing the Holy Land Home

The Jerome E. Singerman Prize

Roland Betancourt, Byzantine Intersectionality: Sexuality, Gender & Race in the Middle Ages (Princeton University Press, 2020)

Jamie Kreiner, Legions of Pigs in the Early Medieval West (Yale University Press, 2020)

These prizes will be awarded at the upcoming Annual Meeting during the Presidential Plenary session on Saturday, 16 March, at 10:30 AM. Please join us as we honor these scholars and their important work.

This entry was posted in MAA Newsletter. Bookmark the permalink.