MAA News – Fellows’ Elections 2013

Strickland Brooch, 9th c., silver with gilt niello and blue glass.

Strickland Brooch, 9th c., silver with gilt niello and blue glass.

The Fellows’ Elections for 2013 have added five new Fellows and three new Corresponding Fellows to the roster of scholars who have made notable contributions to furthering the stated purposes of the Academy, which are “to conduct, encourage, promote and support research, publication, and instruction in medieval records, literature, languages, arts, archaeology, history, philosophy, science, life, and all other aspects of medieval civilization, by publications, by research, and by such other means as may be desirable.”

The new Fellows are Robert E. Bjork, (English, Arizona State University), Caroline Astrid Bruzelius (Art History, Duke University), Thomas Madden (History, St. Louis University), Teofilo Ruiz (History, University of California, Los Angeles) and Jocelyn Wogan-Browne (English, Fordham University). These bring the number of Fellows to 118 of the 125 total possible.

The new Corresponding Fellows are Wendy Davies (History, University College London), Claude Gauvard (History, L’Université Paris I, Pantheon-Sorbonne) and Dominique Iogna-Prat (History, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales). Three new Corresponding Fellows will join the current 62, bringing the number of Corresponding Fellows to 65.

Formal inductions will take place at the Annual Meeting in Knoxville, on Saturday, 6 April at 4:00 PM in Hilton Knoxville Ballroom on the Mezzanine Level.

This entry was posted in MAA Newsletter. Bookmark the permalink.